Pär Hamnes

High Coast, Sweden

My name is Pär and I'm 36 years old. I live in the High Coast of Sweden, which is known for its beautiful nature and hiking trails. I work as a photographer and therapist today, and just recently I started my journey to become a nature guide. My passion for the outdoors was when I realised how nature can heal, in ways that many people miss out on. I’m always full of energy and creativity, which is perfect for my way of living.

Activities

Photographer I Nature Guide I Explorer

Q&A with Pär

When will you know you’ve ‘made it’?

I believe I’ve already ‘made it’ tons of times in various ways throughout my days. It’s my curiosity for life that always keeps me motivated to move forward and explore new ways. The most important thing though is to stay grateful for what you’ve already have, that’s when you truly have made it in life.

What’s the most daring thing you’ve ever done?

I think that must be the time when my son was about 1 years old, and I quit my job, sold our apartment and moved 250 km north to the High Coast. Without any job, connections or safety net. We just knew that it felt like home, and I had to have faith that it was the right thing to do. Sometimes you have to take some risks to get where you want.

If you could only eat one meal for the rest of your life, what would it be?

I’ve actually thought of that many times and I will go for the sandwich. In that way I think I beat the system, because there are various ways of sandwich making out there!

Aside from necessities, what is one thing you could not go a day without?

I’ve climbed down a sea cave in Croatia. Well my dog is with me all the time, but I’m not sure if I would like to call her a thing haha. I can’t really come up with anything, and I believe that’s a good thing, to not stay too attached to stuff.

3 tips from Pär

1. Make it easy and have fun, if it’s not fun it’s not worth it, life is limited so enjoy it.
2. Do your thing and be true to yourself.
3. And be kind, that’s the best advice I have, always be kind.

What’s your outdoor story?

I’ve been surrounded by nature since I was a child. My father is from Norway and the culture was to always be up in the mountains. Nowadays it’s almost as if I have to be in nature to connect and stay grounded, it makes me feel calm and safe.